Located in the heart of the neighbourhood of the same name, this large park was formerly an orchard run by a religious order to provide fruit and vegetables for its school for orphans in the 18th century. In 1828, the land was acquired by the aristocratic Olivera family, who built a country house called Los Remedios there and used the land as a centre for experimentation with agriculture and livestock.
The Olivera family sold the land to the municipal government in 1912 and it was converted into a 30-hectare public park, the third largest in Buenos Aires. The park conserves the historic centre of the Olivera family's estancia, and is also home to the municipal plants nursery, a sports centre, a miniature railway that was brought from the former city zoo, and an arts centre known as "El Tambo" (the dairy) because the site previously supplied milk to the whole area around San José de Flores. and several government departments. The railway runs on weekends only.
Discover Buenos Aires' emblematic neighbourhoods.