Buenos Aires ePrix - Formula E

The race series returns against the backdrop of the stunning Puerto Madero neighbourhood, February 18, 2017.

Formula E returns to Buenos Aires and the streets of the modern Puerto Madero neighbourhood once again on February 18.

It's the third season of the annual race series, which features only electric-powered cars, and once again racing will take place against the spectacular backdrop of the glistening skyscrapers and historic docks of the Puerto Madero neighbourhood.

The season began in Hong Kong in October and runs through to a double-header season finale in Montreal in July. Buenos Aires hosts the third round of the series.

Ten teams, each with two drivers, will compete in the 2.4km competition circuit in Puerto Madero, including teams from the UK, USA, India and China.

Here's a look back at 2016's event: 

Formula E is the highest class of competition for single-seater, electrically-powered racing cars. It is hoped that its appeal will help to promote and advance mainstream electrically-powered cars, which in turn will have considerable benefits to the environment. The single-seater motor cars have a similar design to Formula 1 cars, with maximums speeds of over 225km/h (140 mph).

Tickets can be bought online here

More information: http://www.fiaformulae.com/